Skip To Main Content

School Community Council (SCC)

School Community Council (SCC)

 
SCC Agendas & Minutes
 

The next SCC Meeting is on Wednesday, October 6th at 6:00 in person at SLCSE in the CASA. 

All meetings are held at 6:00 p.m. During the 2021-2022 school year, some meetings will be in person and some will be on Zoom. For Zoom meetings, email Britnie.Powell@slcschools.org to receive a link for the meeting. In person meetings will be held at SLCSE in the CASA. All parents are invited to attend meetings. You do not need to be a "member" of the SCC to attend meetings. 

Meeting dates for the 2021/2022 School Year are as follows:

September 8, 2021 in person at SLCSE
October 13, 2021 on Zoom
January 12, 2022 in person at SLCSE
February 9, 2022 on Zoom 
March 9, 2022 in person at SLCSE
May 11, 2022 on Zoom 

School Community Council and LAND Trust 

​The School Community Council brings together parents and SLCSE faculty to to improve academic achievement.  The group creates a plan for how best to use funds received from the State School Fund annual dividend (allocated on a per pupil basis).For the 2019-2020 school year, the council used funds to hire a part time reading teacher to provide 2 reading intervention classes. Due to COVID-19, end of year data was not obtained but midyear data was. The data shows the percent of proficient readers increased from 55% to 62% by midyear. The data also shows that by midyear, 40% of students participating in the reading intervention class made 1 full grade level or more of reading progress.  For more information, see the following:

School LAND Funds Over Time
The chart below shows the allotment of funds allocated through the State School Fund annual dividend (chart taken from the
School LAND Trust website.  These funds are used towards the goals outlined in our Student Success Plan.

Picture

Drafts for Review
Overnight Trips 2021-2022
Fees 2021-2022 English
Fees 2021-2022 Spanish​

School Community Council Meetings

2020/2021  School Year SCC Membership 
Chair, Jill Drown, Parent
jilldrown@yahoo.com

Lynn Lonardo, Parent
6lonardos@gmail.com

Britnie Powell, Assistant Principal
britnie.powell@slcschools.org
801-578-8226

Member, Amy Jordan, Parent
mrsamyj1@gmail.com

Member, Niki Hack, Faculty
niki.hack@slcschools.org

Member, Dora Diana, Parent
doraniccole@yahoo.com

Member, Smaragda Halilovic, Parent
d.halilovic@comcast.net

Member, Joan Burke, Parent
joanieb@gmail.com

Member, Bonnie Starr, Parent
bonnie_starr@hotmail.com

Member, Christy Sapp, Parent
christysapp@hotmail.com

Member, Ashley Paulsen, Faculty
Ashley.Paulsen@slcschools.org

Member, Christy Poruznik, Parent
christy.porucznik@gmail.com 

Member, Alissa Kean, Parent
alissa.kean@slcschools.org

Member, Meadow Wilde, Parent
meadow.wilde@gmail.com

Member, Ephraim Burke, Parent
ephraimlburke@gmail.com

Member, Sue Ashdown, Parent
xaxares@gmail.com

Member, Maria Barajas, Parent
lbcorazon15@gmail.com

Member, Luisa Becerra, Parent
lbecerra02@gmail.com

Member, Gloria Fuller, Parent
​livs-mom@comcast.net

Interested in becoming a member? All parents are invited to be a member of SCC and LAND Trust. This invitation is sent out each school year in September.